Marriage of William Richmond and Zedith Lachney

Lisa Alzo of The Accidental Genealogist has put together a great list of writing prompts for Women’s History Month. The prompt for today is to post a marriage record for your grandparents or great grandparents. Write a post about where and when they  at. Have any family stories about the wedding, post them? Add a photo if you have that as well. 

My grandparents got married in the childhood home of my grandma on 2 Sep 1948 in Beckley, Raleigh County, WV. Consent to the marriage was given by Hunter and Edith Richmond, (William’s parents), and Joe and Mary Lachney, (Zedith’s parents). Click here for information on Raleigh County in the 1940′s.

 

Unfortunately, I do not have a photo of them on their wedding. This photo is of the house they got married in. The photo is from 2004 when I was lucky enough to take my grandma “home” to West Virginia for the Hilton Family Reunion. 

2 responses

  1. [...] the death of her husband, William H. Richmond Jr., she pulled out her treasured box, (which was an old shoe box) to share them with me because my [...]

  2. [...] the death of her husband, William H. Richmond Jr., she pulled out her treasured box, (which was an old shoe box) to share them with me because my [...]

Leave a Reply

