AncestryDNA Results

There has been a lot of talk on Twitter lately about the AncestryDNA testing and I thought it was well past the time that I put my results up. When I originally received the results, I posted the findings on my Facebook account and have not done a lot with them otherwise. Though, I did email with 2 different people who Ancestry states I have a  95 and 96% chance of being related to.

Results of my AncestryDNA test.

Basically, it states that my ethnicity is:

  • 37% Scandanavian
  • 33% British Isles
  • 19% Southern European
  • 10% Finnish/Volga-Ural
  •    1% Uncertain

At first, I will say the Scandinavian threw me for a loop. But, after thinking about my Irish heritage, and my red-headed family members, that made sense. The British Isles made sense as well. There were a few lines that came through England and of course that also includes my Irish. Southern European though…which they consider modern-day Spain, Portugal and Italy. I do not know of anyone that came from any of those areas, so far. The Finnish/Volga-Ural they consider modern-day Russia or Finland. Well, no one I know from there either. But, I have been told that could be my Germans or the Hungarians.

The two people I have emailed with have not been able to connect with my lines at this point. But, never say never. As AncestryDNA compiles more data the percentages may change and from what I hear they may be giving more information out so that we can try to find where the connections may be. At this point, I am glad I took the test, but I wait for more data to come out of it. This is my first dip into the DNA waters and I know this was not a test specific to a family line, which I would like to do as well. I am still looking for an O’Connell male to do the Y-DNA test for me. If there are any takers in my specific family line, please contact me. I do plan to take the Mt-DNA in the future.

Did you take the AncestryDNA test? What were your results?

4 responses

  1. I find this really interesting. I was disappointed that I missed my invitation email to purchase a DNA kit. Hopefully more will be available soon…I’m curious what my own results will be!

    1. It is definitely interesting. Hang in there, I hope they open this up fully soon!

  2. Nice to see you dipping your toe in and posting about DNA! I wrote a post a couple of weeks ago about the admixture predictions (percentage breakdowns) at AncestryDNA, discussing how many have received surprising results especially with the Scandinavian percentages. In case you are interested, it is here: http://www.yourgeneticgenealogist.com/2012/06/my-review-of-ancestrydnas-admixture.html
    I hope you will continue to investigate the exciting world of genetic genealogy. :-)
    CeCe

    1. CeCe, I did read your post last week and got a lot of great information from it. I am looking forward to the next test I will be able to take.

Leave a Reply

