School starts today

I have been anxiously awaiting today for the past week. Today I start three classes through the National Institute of Genealogical Studies. I am currently enrolled in 9 classes. I have completed the first (in December), for February I am taking three, March I am taking three and the April I will be taking two.

This month my classes are:

Methodology – Part 2: Organizing and Skill Building

US: Census Records

US: Vital Records, Understanding & Using The Records

My plan of attack is to spend a few hours each evening on one of the classes. My goal at the end of this is to obtain my Certificate in Genealogical Studies – American Records.

Tonight’s focus was the Methodology class. Though this is a beginner class, it was great to get back to the basics and think about where I am as a genealogist and what areas I can grow in. 

Today’s learning…

is that I need to find what works for me when it comes to organizing my files. I have read many different articles on this and I just need to decide what will work for me.

My goal for class and my blog is to sum up each week (over the next 6) what I have learned and how I am doing going through this process. It has been many years since I have been in a class that results in a grade at the end of the course. So, while I am excited about this process, nervous would also work to describe it.

2 responses

  1. Good for you! A lot of work, but you have the dedication to do it, and do it right. Best wishes!

    Keep these ancestor stories coming!

    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”

    1. Thanks Bill, I appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

