2012 Genealogy Goals

While reading over how many of my genealogy friends did completing their goals for 2011, I decided that in 2012 I was going to do things a bit differently. Last year, Amy Coffin of We Tree and Denise Levenick of The Family Curator got together over lunch and decided that they would set a few goals and be there for moral support throughout the year.

After I really thought about it, I decided this might actually work for me. I reached out to Stephanie of Corn and Cotton: My Family’s Story to see if she would like to do this together. We already are supporting each other throughout the month with our monthly goals, why not help throughout the year. Steph replied that she would also like to do this.

I wrote out my goals last night and sent them off to Steph to see what she thought. My goals are big and I was afraid I am biting off more than I can chew. Steph was nice enough to remind that it is what we are supposed to be doing.

So, without further ado, here are my goals for 2012.

Research – I really want to prove / disprove the Mayflower connection in my Richmond line. My only concern with this in funding the project.

Writing – Since I do not consider myself a great writer, this goal will be the hardest for me. I have been told many times by my aunt (who reads my blog faithfully) that I need to write a book on my O’Connell research. There have been a few family members who have researched this family and it remains difficult. At this point, my research has surpassed those before me, I do not feel like I have enough research on this line. There are still a few branches of the family I would like to work on.

Since the O’Connell line is out of the question for writing a book about, I have decided that this goal will go along with my goal for research. The proving / disproving the Mayflower connection is a large task and one that will need to be well documented as I research it. If I fail at researching, I fail at the writing. That is scary, to set for goals and know that if I miss in research, I miss in writing as well. If I succeed, it will be a huge thing for those that are researching this line and only have a theory at this point. I have gotten a few emails wanting to know if I have the proof (all from other family members).

Organizational – This past year when we opened out own business, the basement was turned into my office, sort of. It has never been completed for business, let alone my genealogy work. This year, I want to organize my office for genealogy as well. I need to move all my books, magazines, bins and other genealogy “stuff” into the basement and then start to get it all organized. I hope to be able to utilize Motivation Monday (on the first Monday of each month) to keep me moving in this long process.

Educational – I have signed up for ProGen and hope to start in 2012. I will be doing this with my genealogy buddy, Stephanie and our friend Laura of The Last Leaf on This Branch. Hopefully, the three of us will be able to complete this successfully with all that we have going on in our lives. Unfortunately, I will be taking a break from the classes at the National Institute of Genealogical Studies. Also in the plans is to go back to school to take my general education classes. Now that my kids are old enough to take care of themselves, it’s time for me to start working towards a degree.

Are you interested in Steph’s goals? You should be, she has many great goals she is working towards. Read about her goals here.

16 responses

  1. Thank you for the mention. You’ll do great in ProGen. I know you’ll enjoy it.

    1. Amy, You are welcome. Thanks for being such an inspiration to other geneablogger’s. We appreciate all you do! Thanks for the vote of confidence, it is always needed.

  2. You’re going to do great! We’ll do this together and make 2012 a great year for genealogy. So glad that you asked me to buddy up! 🙂

    1. Thanks Steph, We will definitely have a great year! I am glad we are doing this together.

  3. A fine set of goals! I will be working on some organization myself! Having a good “space” really does make a difference in whatever you are doing. Good luck!

    1. Thanks Jenna,

      I do believe that after I get organized and in one space, life and research will be so much easier. Good luck on your goals as well!

  4. Jennifer Holik-Urban, Professional Genealogist | Reply

    Great goals Terri! You and Stephanie will do great things in 2012!

    1. Thanks Jen, I really believe that working together towards are goals will keep me working. Happy New Year!

  5. These are awesome goals, Terri! It’s great that you and Stephanie will be supporting each other. Like Amy, I think you’ll really enjoy ProGen. Best wishes for a wonderful year!

    1. Thanks Shelley. Steph and a small group of others started working together in Dec., our goal was to try and keep each other motivated (and accountable) to the goals we set. I just knew that we would be able to work through the year together as well. I am excited about starting ProGen and I am sure we will all enjoy it.

  6. You will get so much out of ProGen! Worth every minute you invest. 2012 will be a stellar year, I just know it!

    1. Thanks, Leslie. I hope it is a stellar year for all!

  7. […] 2012 Genealogy Goals – Self explanatory, just hoping I can meet them […]

  8. Great goals, especially about creating a workspace. That’s a big one for me as well. Have a great year!

    1. Jenny, It is always great to see that others share the same goal. Even if it is getting organized. Good luck to you in 2012!

  9. […] with their goals for this year and then proceeded to blog about said goals. Read my original goals here.  After almost a full month into the year, I know that what I have planned to accomplish as goals […]

Leave a comment